Performance Art and Local Food

January 25, 2010

Love Facebook. It keeps me connected to family and friends all over the world. Tonight I logged on to find a comment posted by my sister-in-law (actually, a fellow Morris “outlaw” – defined as those of us who chose to marry in to this crazy and wonderful family) directing me to a brilliant piece of performance art at el  Mercado  Centrale in Valenica, Spain.

Shoppers were treated to professional opera singers, disguised as produce vendors, who coordinated a rendition of Giuseppe Verdi’s La Traviata, a story of love and betrayal set in Paris. I couldn’t help but appreciate the combination of so many things I love: fresh produce, a central market (aka: “Farmer’s Market” here in the U.S.) and opera.  I have such fond memories of daily shopping trips to Florence, Italy’s central market, just blocks away from my apartment on Via Guelfa (near Il Duomo). My roommate, Julie Angleos, and I would faithfully go to purchase fresh panini, wet mozzarella, and even chunks of chocolate, which we would chop into tiny chips, to make American chocolate chip cookies for our Italian friends. (They don’t sell Nestle chocolate chips in Florence.) Take a peek at the happiness that live music and good – local! – food brings: .

Leave a Reply

